Walters Prize: Kōrero with the artists


event Details

The Walters Prize is Aotearoa New Zealand’s most significant contemporary art award. Established in 2002, this year will be the tenth iteration of the Walters Prize, which was conceived as a platform to foreground excellence in the visual arts. 

Come and hear from this year’s four nominated artists, each speaking in front of their art installations. These artworks have been selected for their outstanding contributions to contemporary art in New Zealand.

Numbers will be limited so please come early.  These presentations will be recorded and made available via our gallery website in due course.

To read the jury statement in full click here.

Artist presentation times:

1pm, Chartwell Gallery: Sonya Lacey, nominated for Weekend, 2018

1.30pm, Chartwell Gallery: Sriwhana Spong, nominated for Now Spectral, Now Animal, 2019/2020

2pm, Chartwell Gallery: Fiona Amundsen, nominated for A Body That Lives, 2018

2.30pm, Lower Grey Gallery: Mata Aho (Erena Baker, Sarah Hudson, Bridget Reweti and Terri Te Tau), nominated for AKA, 2019.  This presentation will be in front of their work Atapō, created in conjunction with Maureen Lander.


Image credits:
Sonya Lacey, Weekend, 2018.
Sriwhana Spong, Now Spectral, Now Animal, 2019/2020.
Fiona Amundsen, A Body That Lives, 2018.
Mata Aho, AKA, 2019.
Mata Aho Collective with Maureen Lander, Atapō, 2020.



Chartwell Gallery, Level 2