The Contemporary Benefactors was established in 2013 as a new tier of philanthropic support for contemporary New Zealand and international art at Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki.

Contemporary Benefactors are given unprecedented opportunities for exposure to art, artists, curators and exhibitions in an informative and stimulating environment. We provide the opportunity to engage more closely with the art world in New Zealand and internationally.

Included in the Benefactor programme are a wide variety of exhibition and behind-the-scenes talks, studio visits and collection tours both in New Zealand and overseas. Contemporary Benefactors also receive invitations to all Auckland Art Gallery’s openings and are given access to the Members Lounge. We also organise VIP talks and social events at local and international art fairs and at exhibitions such as the Auckland Art Fair, Biennale of Sydney and Frieze London. See the full list of benefits below


  • invitations to exclusive events, art tours, talks and more
  • invitations to exhibition opening events
  • free entry to paid exhibitions
  • access to the Members Lounge
  • 10% discount at the Gallery shop* and café

*  Discount not currently available online

Your donation will go towards supporting exhibitions and publications on contemporary art and major related events in Auckland Art Gallery’s public programme. 

By becoming a Contemporary Benefactor in support of Auckland Art Gallery you will not only be enriching the Gallery programme but also your own experience of contemporary art. If you would like to receive more information please email

Michael and Sharon Acland
Sophie Anderson
Kriselle Baker and Richard Douglas
Nina Broomfield
Michael and Janie Browne
Miranda Burdon
Antony Challinor
Lady Deborah Chambers
Karl Cook
Sarah Couillault
Andy and Kristin Cullen
Anna Dickie
Megan Dunbar
Richard Garard and Emma Gibbs
Kate Gillespie and Michael Robertson
Emma Gregory
Julian Guthrie and Georgie Robinson
Danielle Harper
Peter and Daniella Heppner
Michael and Catherine Heron
Julian Holland
Tim Huston
Christel Jackson
Richard Judd and Megan Ogilvie
Susan Kelly
Jeanette Kreft
Cecilia Lambie
Kate Lane
Nicola Maling
Connel and Keitha McLaren
Rachael McLaren
David and Juliet Moore
Duncan and Susie Olde
Carol Riley
David and Lisa Roberton
Paul and Laura Savory
Liz Sellar
Lily Sha
Katherine Smith
James and Jodi Snell
David and Heidi Sommerville
Richard Sullivan and Natasha Whiting
Christopher and Charlotte Swasbrook
Lynn Theron
David and Sarah Vokes
Ben and Sue Waymouth
Anne Wight
Caitlin Wright
Geoff Dalbeth & Trish Brown
Claire Chamberlain
Sarah Reid
Simon Hull


Related exhibitions

View Exhibition
Necessary Distraction: A Painting Show
Necessary Distraction: A Painting Show

Free entry

Necessary Distraction: A Painting Show

Free entry

View Exhibition
John Ward Knox: Hardly Held Lightly
John Ward Knox: Hardly Held Lightly

Free entry

John Ward Knox: Hardly Held Lightly

Free entry