Here's the full list of awards that the Gallery has received across Architectural, Project, Property and Graphic Design since our 2011 redevelopment – including the prestigious World Building of the Year award.

Architectural design
FJMT+Archimedia (Architects in Association)

Metro Magazine: Best of Auckland (2015)

  • Favourite Modern Building

World Architecture Festival Awards (2013)

  • World Building of the Year
  • Completed Buildings – Culture (category winner)

INSIDE Festival Awards (2013)

  • Interior of the Year – Culture (category winner)

The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design & European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies: International Architectural Awards (2012)

  • International Architecture Award

Royal Institute of British Architects: RIBA Awards (2012)

  • International Prize

Australian Institute of Architects: National Architecture Awards (2012)

  • The Jørn Utzon Award for International Architecture

New Zealand Wood: Resene Timber Design Awards (2012)

  • Commercial Architectural Excellence
  • Indigenous Timber Showcase

New Zealand Institute of Architects: NZIA Awards (2011, 2012)

  • Public Architecture
  • Heritage
  • The New Zealand Architecture Medal


Project design 
Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

Museums Aotearoa: New Zealand Museums Awards (2012)

  • Project Achievement Award for Museum or Gallery Development

Be.Institute (2011)

  • Be.Welcome Gold Rating


Property design 
Regional Facilities Auckland

Property Council New Zealand: Rider Levett Bucknall Property Industry Awards (2012)

  • Coffey Projects, Education and Arts Property Industry
  • Hawkins, Heritage and Adaptive Reuses Property Industry
  • Rider Levett Bucknall Supreme Award


Graphic design 
Alt Group

Type Directors Club Awards, New York (2011)

  • Communication Design Award

Designers Institute of New Zealand: Best Design Awards (2012)

  • Environmental Graphics – Silver
  • Visual Communication – Silver
  • Identity Development (Large scale) – Gold

Australian Design Biennale Awards (2012)

  • Pinnacle Award for Design Effectiveness

IF Communication Design Award, Germany (2013)

  • Communication Design Award