The Walters Prize | Kōrero with the winner


event Details

Join us as Curator, Contemporary Art, Natasha Conland talks with Mata Aho Collective and Maureen Lander, just announced as winner of this year’s Walters Prize.

This year marks the tenth iteration of the biennial prize, which was established in 2001 and now celebrates a 20-year legacy of artists and artworks supported over its history.

The artworks nominated for The Walters Prize are selected for their outstanding contributions to contemporary art in New Zealand in the preceding years. The four incredible artists selected for this year’s iteration are Fiona Amundsen, Sonya Lacey, Mata Aho Collective with Maureen Lander and Sriwhana Spong.

Come along the morning after the announcement of the judge’s decision and hear what this prize means for the newly announced winner.



Walters Prize exhibition space