BWB Winter Talk Series: He Whakaputanga and Te Tiriti o Waitangi


event Details

He Whakaputanga/The Declaration of Independence, signed between 1835 and 1839, was a  powerful assertion of mana and rangatiratanga. It was followed in 1840 by Te Tiriti o Waitangi/the Treaty of Waitangi, signed in 1840 by 540 rangatira around the country. Talking with Mihingarangi Forbes, Dr Aroha Harris, Dame Claudia Orange and Morgan Godfery discuss the significance of these two New Zealand documents – and the people who signed them.

This event is part of the free BWB Winter Talk Series. Download the flyer.

About the speakers:

Dame Claudia Orange is an Honorary Research Fellow at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa. She has published widely on Treaty of Waitangi issues, early New Zealand history and twentieth-century race relations.

Aroha Harris (Te Rarawa, Ngāpuhi) is a Senior Lecturer in History at the University of Auckland and a member of the Waitangi Tribunal. She is a co-editor of the award-winning Tangata Whenua: An Illustrated History (BWB, 2014).

Morgan Godfery (Te Pahipoto, Lalomanu) is a Wellington-based writer who specialises in Māori issues and politics. He is the editor of The Interregnum: Rethinking New Zealand (BWB, 2016).

Mihingarangi Forbes (Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Paoa) is the Maori Issues Correspondent for Radio New Zealand and host of The Hui, a Māori current affairs television show.

Auditorium, lower ground level

Explore Further