Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki hosted The Pat Hanly Creativity Awards last Thursday night (29 August), recognising thirty-six exceptional Year 13 art students from twenty-eight secondary schools throughout the Auckland region.

Established in 2002, the Awards recognise secondary school students who display high levels of creativity in the visual arts.

Auckland Art Gallery Director Kirsten Paisley said at the award ceremony: ‘The Pat Hanly Creativity Awards have always been about making art accessible and encouraging young people to have a voice. They create a sense of achievement and recognition, and open up the possibility of making connections with peers and with Auckland Art Gallery.’

The awards, supported by AUT, acknowledge the late artist Pat Hanly’s outstanding contribution to New Zealand contemporary art and his passion for art education and supporting young artists.

Each awarded student received a gift bag of art supplies and vouchers donated by Gordon Harris, and has the opportunity to attend exclusive art workshops with artists Janet Lilo, John Vea, Lucy Meyle, Ziggy Lever and Luise Fong.

‘Congratulations to all students who have been recognised by the Pat Hanly Creativity Awards this year – we can’t wait to see where their passion and hard work takes them’ says Paisley.

Cayleen Bester, Albany Senior High School
Lex MacGregor-Hay, Auckland Girls Grammar School
Bridie Nelson, Baradene College of the Sacred Heart
Kayra Yildiz, Baradene College of the Sacred Heart
Alba Mlika, Birkenhead College
Brooklyn Boyed, Birkenhead College
Xiaoxiao Shellie Hu, Diocesan School for Girls
Jenny Tran, Edgewater College
Shana Davids, Edgewater College
Katie Cathro, Epsom Girls Grammar School
Taylor-Grace Watt, Epsom Girls Grammar School
Madison Clarke, Glendowie College
Tafseer Carabuena, Glenfield College
Kayla Newman, Green Bay High School
Sofya Silina, Henderson High School
Maya Louw, Howick College
Hamish Thornton, Kristin School
Ellie Hart, Long Bay College
Maya Reed, Long Bay College
Vivian Huang, Lynfield College
Jessica Gu, Macleans College
Julienne Niko, Mangere College
Aimee Lew, Manurewa High School
Wachiraya Pradab, Manurewa High School
Frances Glynn, Marist College
Tayla Penneli-Tupou, Mt Roskill Grammar School
Ruby Brown, Northcote College
Yonah Ma, Pakuranga College
Connor Rice, Rangitoto College
Hao Dai, Rangitoto College
Leon Truong George, Selwyn College
Viiga Alapati, Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate
Luiz Matavao, Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate
Olive Desbonnets, St Cuthbert’s College
Freya Kemp, Western Springs College
Gryffin Cook, Westlake Boys High School

573.89kB pdf file