Wednesday 14 September 2022

Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki hosted the annual Pat Hanly Creativity Awards on Thursday night (8 September) recognising 89 talented senior visual art students from 47 secondary schools and kura throughout the greater Tāmaki Makaurau region.

Established in 2002, the Awards recognise secondary school students nominated by their kaiako for outstanding creativity, imagination and commitment to the visual arts.

‘Presented by the Gallery for the last two decades, the Pat Hanly Creativity Awards have become an important milestone and accolade for some of Tāmaki Makaurau’s most outstanding young creative talent. Through these awards, we aim to empower the upcoming artists of Tāmaki Makaurau, giving them a life-long connection to the arts and an opportunity to continue creating,’ said Auckland Art Gallery Director Kirsten Lacy.

‘The awards are an acknowledgement, too, of the critical role of schools, kaiako, whānau and parents in championing students with their mahi and encouraging them along artistic paths. Congratulations to the ākonga who have been recognised – we wish you the very best in your creative endeavours.’

Professor Mandy Smith, Auckland University of Technology Head of School Art & Design was impressed by the exceptional quality of the artwork nominated.

‘The high calibre of artwork we saw this year was outstanding. The next generation of young artists are pushing the boundaries of creativity by responding to the issues of the modern world and exploring the possibilities of their work.

‘Ākonga applied a wide range of media, including technically accomplished paintings and other mixed media: video, sculpture and photography. A prominent overarching theme was COVID-19 and the resulting long lockdowns, from isolated figures to individuals in intimate interiors, elaborate imaginative worlds, as well as literal references to the pandemic with medical staff and equipment, and organic matter at cellular level,’ said Smith.

The awards, supported by AUT, acknowledge the late artist Pat Hanly’s outstanding contribution to New Zealand contemporary art and his passion for art education and supporting young artists.

Lillian Hanly, the granddaughter of Pat Hanly, spoke on behalf of the Hanly family.

‘Growing up in a creative family, a huge emphasis was placed on the importance of artwork in all its forms. Unfortunately, not everyone has the opportunity or support to follow their dreams, whatever that may look like. The Pat Hanly Creativity Awards were established to acknowledge the voice of young people and to give all emerging artists a platform to express their creativity.’

The recipients of the Pat Hanly Creativity Awards 2022, along with their whānau and teachers, were honoured at a gala event at Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki.

The awards were presented by Lillian Hanly, Dr Isabel Haarhaus-Michell, the Manager of Schools and Learning at the Gallery, and Dr Sue Gallagher, Programme Director for Master of Design in the Schools of Art & Design at AUT.

Each student received a generous gift donated by supporting event partner Gordon Harris, including a $50 voucher. The top 12 ākonga also received a Highly Commended Award and an Auckland Art Gallery Membership, allowing free unlimited entry to paid exhibitions, access to special events and more.

Alphabetically by school name (* denotes Highly Commended award):

Indie McMillan, Albany Senior High School*
Jasmine Reynolds, Albany Senior High School*
Fayth Ioane, Aorere College
Moana Tongotongo, Aorere College
Robson Reidy, Auckland Grammar School
Daniel Yu, Auckland Grammar School
Marcus Fleming, Auckland Grammar School*
Cale Hooper, Avondale College
Temima Rigg, Avondale College
Ella McKanny, Baradene College
Scarlett Kang, Baradene College
Charll Matthew Enriquez, Birkenhead College
Latamai Katoa, Birkenhead College
Annika Healy, Botany Downs Secondary College
Alisha Batra, Botany Downs Secondary College
Teddie Kohlberger, Carmel College
Jillian Aquino, Carmel College
Demetrius Shortland, Dilworth School
Sione Tu'ungafasi, Dilworth School
Amelia Green, Diocesan School for Girls
Clementine Buchanan, Diocesan School for Girls
Angela Cheng, Edgewater College
Johnson Hagaitoa, Edgewater College
Nielsen Almazar, Elim Christian College Mt Albert Campus
Kareena Penny, Elim Christian College Mt Albert Campus
Hailey Yeyeon Kwak, Epsom Girls Grammar School*
Demi Jonassen, Glendowie College
Amike Ellis, Glenfield College
Lyden Cambe, Glenfield College
Hazel Cook, Green Bay High School
Katinka Hopkins, Green Bay High School
Hikaru Nishikawa, Howick College
Skyla Law Chan, Howick College
Japnoor Kaur, James Cook High School
Sam Doan Pham, James Cook High School
Su'e Su'e, Kelston Boy's High School
Victor Viki, Kelston Boy's High School
Isaiah Swann, Liston College
Kade Young, Liston College
Sebastyen Fuiava, Liston College
Arabella Van Der Maas, Macleans College
Lexi Carter¸ Macleans College
Noah Barclay, Mahurangi College*
Ava Bravenboer, Mahurangi College
Melody Peters, Manurewa High School
Damien Matofai, Manurewa High School
Kahn Gruger Storz, Marist College
Isla Keast, Michael Park School
Jasmyn McCall, Michael Park School*
Zoe Whaley, Mount Albert Grammar School
Jorja Stevens, Mount Albert Grammar School
Sydney Reading, Orewa College
Manaia Thomas-Bloom, Orewa College
Claralise Nel, Ormiston Senior College
Justin Villaflores, Ormiston Senior College
Zoe Purvis, Pakuranga College
Daniel Kang, Pakuranga College
Dhuet Metotisi, Papakura High School
Paula Phao Phuang, Papatoetoe High School
Chang Liu, Pinehurst School*
Billie-Jae Jenkins, Pukekohe High School
Nyle Turuwhenua, Pukekohe High School*
Akane Shibata, Rangitoto College
Halu Sugimoto, Rangitoto College
Joanna Fu, Rosehill College
Kate Groshinski, Rosehill College
Jemima Tichborne, Rutherford College
Tyra Ibbott, Rutherford College*
Eva Ye, Saint Kentigern College
Link Pickering, Saint Kentigern College
Kathleen Shi, Sancta Maria College
Mikaela Lai, Sancta Maria College
Kristen Roxburgh, Selwyn College*
Kocheec Pirini, Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate
Ngature Kelly, Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate
Isabel Brooks, St Cuthbert's College
Chelsea Middendorf, St Cuthbert's College
Woodrow Wilson, St Peter's College
Kayden Levi, St Peter's College
Aisha Tanaka-Avers, Takapuna Grammar School
Raahi Gossage Krishnan, Takapuna Grammar School
Arapera-Grace Te Ata o Te Nuia Walker, Te Kura Māori o Ngā Tapuwae
Taimana Te Pania Hayjeem Pukeroa Boyce, Te Kura Māori o Ngā Tapuwae
Amy White, Waitakere College
Scarlett Corrigan, Waitakere College
Sophia Collins, Western Springs College - Ngā Puna o Waiūrea
Shay Patel, Western Springs College - Ngā Puna o Waiūrea*
Sam Higgs, Westlake Boys High School
Joseph Pettigrew, Westlake Boys High School*

For more information, images and interview requests contact:
Lesl van der Voorn
Communications Advisor, Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki
M +64 21 548 480 | E

454.84 KB PDF file