Mataaho Collective

Mataaho Collective
Date of birth
Mata Aho Collective is a collaboration of four Māori women based in Aotearoa New Zealand. Erena Baker, Sarah Hudson, Bridget Reweti and Terri Te Tau work in what they describe as a ‘four-brain, eight-hand approach’, enabling them to produce works with a single, collective authorship. Mata Aho was shortlisted for the Walters Prize 2020.

Throughout Mata Aho’s practice, the pursuit of mātauranga Māori (Māori knowledge) has unfolded in rich ways, not only through wānanga (gatherings) but also through the development of tuākana–teina (older sister–younger sister) relationships, where an older expert, tuākana, guides a younger or less expert teina, junior.

Since 2014, Mata Aho and Maureen Lander have been working together in a tuākana–teina relationship and their installation *Atapō* (2020) in *Toi Tū Toi Ora* marks the first time they have created artwork together.