Wednesday 16 August 2023

Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki was proud to present the 21st Pat Hanly Creativity Awards at an award ceremony on Thursday night (10 August), recognising 71 visual art students from 39 secondary schools and kura.

Established in 2002, the awards celebrate senior secondary school students throughout the greater Tāmaki Makaurau region who display outstanding creativity in the visual arts.  

Auckland Art Gallery Director Kirsten Lacy said, ‘The calibre of work submitted by the students was exceptional, demonstrating the bright talent among our next generation of artists. Through the Pat Hanly Creativity Awards, it is an honour to recognise students for their artistic efforts, and inspire our youth to further their creative and artistic endeavours.’

Professor Damon Salesa, Vice-Chancellor of the Auckland University of Technology said: ‘The Pat Hanly Creativity Awards bring into focus the vital role of art education in shaping future creatives and helping art students connect with the wider art community.’

The awards, supported by AUT, acknowledge the late artist Pat Hanly’s outstanding contribution to New Zealand contemporary art and his passion for art education and supporting young artists. Each student received a generous gift donated by supporting event partner Gordon Harris.

Alphabetically by school name:

  • Shanying Liu, ACG Parnell College
  • Ariel Hansen, Alfriston College
  • Jadyn Wordsworth, Alfriston College
  • Micayla Maeva, Aorere College
  • Daniel Engle, Auckland Grammar School
  • Silvia Matisi, Avondale College
  • Sylvie Wilson, Avondale College
  • Jaruda Sae-O, Baradene College
  • Lizzie Worth, Baradene College
  • Rafabelle Bastida, Birkenhead College
  • Samantha Nicole Castillo, Birkenhead College
  • Poppy Collis, Carmel College
  • Sophie Farrand, Carmel College
  • Nathan Jack-Midgley, Dilworth School
  • Sean Lile, Dilworth School
  • Alex Wackrow, Diocesan School for Girls
  • Xanthe Williams, Diocesan School for Girls
  • Adrian Cruz, Edgewater College
  • Jhobelle Mikee Iglesia, Edgewater College
  • Emilia Malcolm, Elim Christian College Mt Albert Campus
  • Jonathan Schnee, Elim Christian College Mt Albert Campus
  • Audrey Goggin, Epsom Girls Grammar School
  • Drayton Colson, Epsom Girls Grammar School
  • Freya Ennis, Glendowie College
  • Mimi-Tulip Reeves, Glendowie College
  • Sue Park, Glenfield College
  • Tristan Santos, Glenfield College
  • Anika Tsukihara, Green Bay High School
  • Finn Grieve, Green Bay High School
  • Isobel Baxter, Hobsonville Point Secondary School
  • Joritta Sang Yum, James Cook High School
  • Joseph Poto, James Cook High School
  • Cooper Duff, King's College
  • Georgina Walker, Kristin School
  • Braiden Leituala, Liston College
  • Levi Vaituliao, Liston College
  • Lara Speden, Long Bay College
  • Rita Straka, Long Bay College
  • Danny Dong, Lynfield College
  • Shanaya Pallawela, Lynfield College
  • Charlotte O'Connor, Mahurangi College
  • Reuben Smith, Mahurangi College
  • Lucy de Young, Marist College
  • Zarrel Cardenas, Marist College
  • Caixia Rose Tuaine Tan, Michael Park School
  • Rosa Jonas, Michael Park School
  • Ignacia Martinez Villela, Mount Albert Grammar School
  • Natasha Greenway, Mount Albert Grammar School
  • Bug Vodanovich, Northcote College
  • Mary Thompson, Northcote College
  • Niamh Platts-Mills, Orewa College
  • Sophia Miller, Orewa College
  • Ayla Brockes, Papatoetoe High School
  • Vicky Vay, Papatoetoe High School
  • Mikala Helyar, Pukekohe High School
  • Nisha Van Dijk, Pukekohe High School
  • Ishani Kumar, Rutherford College
  • Tyra Ibbott, Rutherford College
  • Alden Oraha, Sancta Maria College
  • Leitu Taulisi, Sancta Maria College
  • Jane Guiguit, Selwyn College
  • Kelly Lim, Selwyn College
  • Cloris Zhang, St Cuthbert's College
  • Olivia Smith, St Cuthbert's College
  • Athena Abrogena, St Mary's College Ponsonby
  • Seth Cowley, St Peter's College
  • Woodrow Wilson, St Peter's College
  • Keithaline Moke-Mataia, Tangaroa College
  • Salarina Viliamu, Tangaroa College
  • Iris Oetgen, Waiheke High School
  • Ruby Davidson, Waiheke High School
Media release
946.94 KB PDF file