<p><strong>Marti Friedlander,</strong> <em>Pat and Gil Hanly</em>. Courtesy of the Gerrard and Marti Friedlander Charitable Trust</p>

Marti Friedlander, Pat and Gil Hanly. Courtesy of the Gerrard and Marti Friedlander Charitable Trust

Tuesday 29 June 2021

On Thursday 24 June, Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki hosted The Pat Hanly Creativity Awards, recognising 67 exceptional Year 13 art students from 35 secondary schools throughout the Auckland region.

Established in 2002, the awards recognise secondary school students who display high levels of creativity in the visual arts.

‘The focus of The Pat Hanly Creativity Awards is to acknowledge the constantly developing nature of what it is to be a young artist and creative in the 21st century,’ says Auckland Art Gallery Director Kirsten Lacy.

‘The awards offer a way to create a valuable sense of achievement and recognition and open up the possibility of making connections with peers and with this Gallery. They also acknowledge the essential role of schools, art teachers and parents in supporting the creative arts.’

The awards, supported by AUT, acknowledge the late artist Pat Hanly’s outstanding contribution to New Zealand contemporary art and his passion for art education and supporting young artists.

Recipients of the Pat Hanly Creativity Awards, along with their whānau and teachers, were honoured at a gala event at Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki. Each awarded student receives an Auckland Art Gallery Membership, allowing free unlimited entry to paid exhibitions, access to special events and more. Students also receive a goodie bag from AUT and the supporting event partner, Gordon Harris.

‘Congratulations to all students who have been recognised by the Pat Hanly Creativity Awards this year. You are Aotearoa’s future artists, and we wait in anticipation to see where your creative endeavours lead you,’ says Lacy.

Dana Kim, Albany Senior High School

Margo Dolgova, Albany Senior High School

Ayush Narayan, Aorere College

Dhanielle Burgoyne, Aorere College

Logan Bow, Auckland Grammar School

Seiji Endo, Auckland Grammar School

Amy Woolmore, Baradene College

Rosa McAuley, Baradene College

Charlotte Sutton, Birkenhead College

Vikrant Prasad, Birkenhead College

Caela Ackerman, Botany Downs Secondary College

Andrew (Anaru) Campbell, Dilworth

Rhythm Hemehema, Dilworth

Chantelle May, Diocesan

Sienna Zhang, Diocesan

Maja Robertshawe, Epsom Girls Grammar

Sarah Keam, Epsom Girls Grammar

Kevin Cao, Glendowie College

Pimlapatt (Bam) Suriyasenee, Glendowie College

Andrey Nair, Glenfield College

Yuting Liu, Glenfield College

Rowanne Fernandez, Green Bay High School

Sophia Mullender, Green Bay High School

Renee Tabunot, Howick College

Stevie Wood, Howick College

Courtney Murfitt, James Cook High School

Terina Ibbertson, James Cook High School

Franky Euese, Kelston Boys

Aisha Mirranay, Kelston Girls

Avalon Martin, Long Bay College

Imogen Lambert, Long Bay College

Yana Sanvictores, Lynfield College

Elyssa Chen, Macleans College

Maggie Xian, Macleans College

Kelera Lesi, Manurewa School

Rateeka Suwantrai, Manurewa School

Gus Fraser Eccleston, Michael Park School

Hannah Mullany, Michael Park School

Chloe Innes, Mt Albert Grammar School

Lucy Woodall, Mt Albert Grammar School

Avril Hii, Ormiston Senior College

Ruby Zhai, Ormiston Senior College

Sharon Sun, Pakuranga College

Yujie Weng, Pakuranga College

Jun Angeles, Papakura High School

Kyuwon Park, Pinehurst School

Jennifer-Rose Heremia, Pukekohe High School

Jessica Pressnell, Pukekohe High School

Debby Edwards, Rutherford College

Tiare Ngata-Aerengamate, Rutherford College

Ivy Oliveria, Sancta Maria College

Lance Zuniga, Sancta Maria College

George Copeland, Selwyn College

Jocelyn Glenn, Selwyn College

Poe Leiatana, Southern Cross Campus

George Wolfgramm, St Peter's College

Jaden Ferns, St Peter's College

Emilia Perry, Takapuna Grammar School

Sasha Bremner, Takapuna Grammar School

Christopher Anderson, Waiheke High School

Frances Ryder, Waiheke High School

Hannah Rose Nicholson, Waiuku College

Tauryn Payne, Waiuku College

Isabelle Adamson, Western Springs College

Oscar Maltby, Western Springs College

Eric Feng, Westlake Boys High School

Nate Skinner, Westlake Boys High School

For more information, images and interview requests contact:

Priscilla Southcombe
Communications Officer, Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

M +64 21 548 480 | E priscilla.southcombe@aucklandartgallery.com
W www.aucklandartgallery.com

Media release
422.33 KB PDF file